The LaTeX Project logoThe LaTeX Project


LaTeX is based on Donald E. Knuth’s TeX typesetting language or certain extensions. LaTeX was first developed in 1985 by Leslie Lamport, and is now being maintained and developed by the LaTeX3 Project.

Current Team Members

People currently involved in the LaTeX3 project are (in more or less chronological order):

Former Team Members

Former members of the project team were: Denys Duchier, Michael Downes, Alan Jeffrey, Martin Schröder, Thomas Lotze.