The LaTeX3 project is a long-term research project to develop the next version of the LaTeX typesetting system. In a separate article we provide a more detailed description of what we aim to achieve and how you can help us to achieve our goals. Some older reports on the work already done by the project are available from CTAN. Other work is available from this site as articles (in PDF format) and as development code.

Until LaTeX3 is delivered, the project team are committed to the active maintenance of The New Standard LaTeX (LaTeX2e). The experience gained from the production and maintenance of The New Standard LaTeX will have a major influence on the design of LaTeX3.

The LaTeX3 project is a volunteer project funded by donations. If you make use of LaTeX and are interested in its welfare then please consider making a donation. This can either be financial or by helping with one of the volunteer groups. To get instructions on how to proceed with your donation please drop us a line.

The current LaTeX3 project team personnel are (in more or less chronological order): Frank Mittelbach, Rainer Schöpf, Chris Rowley, David Carlisle, Johannes Braams, Robin Fairbairns, Morten Høgholm, Thomas Lotze, Javier Bezos, Will Robertson, Joseph Wright, and Bruno Le Floch.

Former members of the project team were: Denys Duchier, Michael Downes, Alan Jeffrey, Martin Schröder.

The project team can be reached via e-mail, but please send general questions about LaTeX, LaTeX use and where to get LaTeX to the usenet news group comp.text.tex. We don't have the resources to provide an individual answering service for these kinds of questions (or questions regarding future releases of LaTeX).

Our e-mail address should only be used when you want to:

If you want to support LaTeX development by a donation, the best way to do this is donating to the TeX Users Group. They will make sure that your contribution will be used according to your intention. For more information on this, see the TUG donation page (LaTeX Project Contribution).